Skip to content

Medical school dean named to National Academy of Medicine

Akinlolu Ojo’s research, service earn him election to medicine’s highest ranks.

by Kay Hawes
Akinlolu Ojo

Akinlolu Ojo, executive dean of the School of Medicine, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM).

“Membership to the National Academy of Medicine demonstrates the impact of Dr. Ojo’s career as one of the leading academic physicians in the country,” says Dr. Robert Simari, m’86, executive vice chancellor of KU Medical Center. “He has dedicated his career to the study of kidney disease and has set standards for chronic kidney disease and transplantation worldwide.”

Election to the NAM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of medical sciences, health care and public health.

“We are extremely proud of Dr. Akinlolu Ojo’s recognition as a member of the National Academy of Medicine,” says Chancellor Doug Girod. “The caliber of this award demonstrates the incredible contribution that Dean Ojo has made to medicine and the quality of KU faculty and researchers. As one of the nation’s leading research institutions and a member of the Association of American Universities, KU aspires to improve the world through education, service and research—and Dean Ojo helps us do this each and every day.”

Ojo was selected for his work identifying major racial disparities in kidney transplantation. He established a national donor assistance program that has supported more than 10,000 live organ donors. Ojo also established a continentwide research consortium conducting clinical and translational research in more than 14,000 sub-Saharan African individuals. As dean, he increased students underrepresented in medicine and the diversity of medical school matriculants by 83%.

“Many of the achievements attributed to my election were the product of collaborative efforts,” Ojo says. “And I am grateful for the contributions and efforts of my colleagues here at KU Medical Center and The University of Kansas Health System, and throughout the world.”

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors. Ninety U.S. members and 10 international members were elected in 2022.

Kay Hawes, c’89, g’94, is associate director of news and media relations at KU Medical Center.

Photo courtesy of KU Medical Center

Issue 4, 2022


Faculty, Faculty honors, KU Medical Center
You may also like: